How mature is your organisation?

Change occurs at an extreme velocity and the demand to deliver the expected outcomes and results is increasing. Leaders are beginning to recognise that organisational change maturity is no longer merely a luxury, but in fact a necessity.

But What is Change Management Maturity?

In today’s competitive economy, the awareness on the need to respond effectively to change, in order to remain successful, is growing. Building change management as a core competency allows organisations to move up the scale of maturity. The higher the organisation is ranked on the change management maturity model, the higher the effectiveness of its change management capability.


When change takes employees by surprise, the chance of resistance is high. Therefore, it is essential to focus more on the people side of change, while moving up the change management maturity model. Prosci’s Change Management Maturity Model offers scaling tools that will enable you to rate the organisation’s level of maturity fast and simple, so you can take the best decisions together with your partners.


More precisely, Prosci’s Change Management Maturity Model includes five levels of organisational maturity:

Level 5: Organisational Competency

Level 4: Organisational Standards

Level 3: Multiple Projects

Level 2: Isolated Projects

Level 1: Absent or Ad Hoc


The higher the level of maturity in Change Management, the higher the engagement and success rate. With a clear understanding of the events and actions surrounding the change process, employees will become aware of their role and will bring a valuable contribution.  


How do you reach level 5 in change management maturity?

As part of their extensive research, Prosci specialists have identified five observable dimensions of maturity: Leadership, Application, Competencies, Standardisation, and Socialisation. The five dimensions, or capabilities, are key to increasing the change management maturity level in the organisation.


Leadership Capability: How committed are the leaders to organisational change management? If the answer is not too committed, or not at all committed, the focus should shift on this particular capability, when seeking to increase the organisation’s change management maturity level. Engaged leaders will bring extra value to the awareness campaign and set a good start to the change initiative.


Application Capability: Which are the Change Management processes and tools that the organisation adheres to? Application and leadership cannot function one without the other. Once leadership is engaged (and skilled, if needed) focusing on the effectiveness of your processes and tools is the next step. Make sure that the actions taken in times of change are not obsolete and also match the set of values and the culture of the organisation.


Competencies Capability: Which are the skills that should be developed? Change Projects become successful when all employees, managers, leaders, project teams, and practitioners throughout the organisation adhere to the singular cause. Throughout the whole process, it is important to make sure that the key capabilities also get their skills upgraded through training.


Standardisation Capability: Which should be the ideal way of approaching change? Standardising the approach to Change Management across the organisation ensures the success and stability of any upcoming change initiative. Moreover, a change management standard will eliminate confusion, will speed up the processes and foster an environment based on trust.


Socialisation Capability: How should we connect? The Socialisation Capability ensures commitment towards change management from every level of the business, through effective communication plans. Together with the other dimensions previously discussed, socialisation marks the final stage into achieving Change Management maturity.


Would you like to enhance your knowledge about Prosci’s Five levels of Change Management Maturity Model?

The more mature your capabilities are, the more likely it is that your Change Management projects and initiatives will succeed.

To learn more about Prosci’s Five Levels of Change Management Model, download your free copy here and discover more.

Download Now